2013 year in review

Now that we are well into 2014 I thought it was time to reflect on the year that passed.

I wrote 10 new articles in 2013 (which is a lot for me). The whole blog received approximately 13,000 page views for the year. WordPress equated my totals this way:

The concert hall at the Sydney Opera House holds 2,700 people. This blog was viewed about 13,000 times in 2013. If it were a concert at Sydney Opera House, it would take about 5 sold-out performances for that many people to see it.

The most requested article for the year was one I created in 2012 entitled Export an ODBC Data Source in which I outlined the steps to export ODBC data sources from one server to another. I found information in this area lacking and so I knew that by posting it to my blog not only would it help others but it would be a great reminder for myself if I ever needed to do so again.

This year also saw me expand my presentation skills as I spoke at two major conferences. For my successful session submissions I followed the tips I outlaid in an article I wrote on submitting a conference session proposal. The first presentation was at DevTeach Toronto in May and the second was at That Conference in Wisconsin in August. Both were excellent ways to get my feet wet in speaking at larger conferences.

All of my presentation slides are hosted on SlideShare. According to their end of year totals I received 1,143 views of my slides. Or, in other words, SlideShare says:

It would take three full Boeing 747 flights to hold that many people!

Two other things that I did not blog about but which occurred in the second half of the year were the following:

In July I was asked by Microsoft Canada to be a member of the Windows Azure Canadian Community Experts Team. This was quite unexpected as I am just beginning my foray into the world of Windows Azure and I have a lot to learn. That being said I have discovered a group of Canadians excited about spreading the word about Windows Azure who I can definitely learn from.

August saw the publication of the Windows Phone book I was the Technical Reviewer for. Entitled Pro Windows Phone App Development, Third Edition, it was published by Apress and it was written by the fine folks over at Falafel Software.

Pro Windows Phone App Development, Third EditionThis is the second book that I have been the technical reviewer for. I have written an article in the past of the role the technical reviewer plays in helping a book come to fruition. If you have an interest in publishing then I recommend you explore this avenue.

I hope for 2014 that I can be more consistent with my writing. It is a good way to share the knowledge I gain and to give back to the developer community. As well, hopefully I can begin to add more Windows Azure related content to the site as I explore it in more depth.

Thanks for reading and see you in 2014!

About Ken Cenerelli
I am a Programmer Writer, .NET Developer, Microsoft MVP - Visual Studio and Development Technologies, Public Speaker, Blogger, and Microsoft Azure Nerd. I blog regularly at kencenerelli.wordpress.com and can be found on Twitter via @KenCenerelli.

Leave a Reply

