Scheduling tweets for a conference presentation

I have spoken eight times in 2015 at various conferences and user groups. When I give a talk I want to have as many people as possible at my presentation. Since I speak about development technologies that I find fascinating I want to share them with others.

On the day of a talk, especially at a conference, I am busy scrambling around getting ready for my presentation. This usually means prepping my laptop to make sure all notifications are turned off and that my demos are loaded.

At the same time, attendees are usually checking out the conference Twitter stream. They are reading tweets from organizers, sponsors, speakers, and other attendees. This is a captive audience and if you can convince them that yours is a worthwhile talk to attend then the time spent winning them over is worth it.

However, the last thing I am thinking about at that time is using social media to draw people into my talk.

Experiment

For my last two conference talks in Ohio and Michigan I experimented with something different. I spent time several days before each event scheduling tweets that would coincide with my talks. I sent out scheduled tweets one day before the event, 30 minutes before my talk, and again 10 minutes before. I made sure to provide the location of my talk, to use the official conference hashtag, and I mentioned the conference twitter account using a /cc.

As an example, the Tweets below were scheduled and delivered for DetroitDevDay:

There are all types of things I can do with this going forward. I could schedule tweets about important points I make during the talk, send out links to my presentation resources at the beginning of my address so people could follow along, schedule my thank you tweets to the conference organizers or sponsors, and even remind attendees to follow me on Twitter.

Results

The results of my experimentation? Well, I had the largest audiences for my conference talks when I used this tweet queue method. Perhaps it was the material that drew them in or just good timing on the conference schedule. Whatever it was, I will continue to employ scheduled tweets in future.

In my next blog post, I will highlight the tool and methods I used to schedule my tweets. I will also talk about how to time your tweets. Stay tuned.

If you have ever used scheduled tweets to great effect and want to share your tips, please comment below.

Related Articles:

About Ken Cenerelli
I am a Programmer Writer, .NET Developer, Microsoft MVP - Visual Studio and Development Technologies, Public Speaker, Blogger, and Microsoft Azure Nerd. I blog regularly at kencenerelli.wordpress.com and can be found on Twitter via @KenCenerelli.

2 Responses to Scheduling tweets for a conference presentation

  1. Pingback: How to schedule tweets for a presentation using TweetDeck | Ken Cenerelli

  2. Pingback: Tech Conference CFPs: Where To Find Them | Ken Cenerelli

Leave a Reply

